Last Christmas review

Last Christmas TitleWell, that was actually quite good. Not as good as The Snowmen, which is still my bestest Xmas Ep but still quite good. Notice they’re back to Lower Case Lettering for the title, wish they’d make their mind up on that one. The whole “dreams-within-dreams” Inception-style plot was well worked out and those Dream Crab things – okay, was it just me or did they really, really remind you of those Scary Basturd Wallmaster things from Zelda?

zelda wallmaster
dr who zelda wallmaster dream crab

Michael Troughton was a bit underused I thought [I take it his character snuffed it and didn’t wake up?] but both the chicks were excellent and I’d be happy if either of them took over from Coleman after S9. My money’s on Shona though, as she’s more of a contrast to Clara. But then Ashley is sexier so I’d be happy with either of `em in S10.

As for Clara, well, to be fair to her, Coleman is really good in this as Old Clara but I still don’t like her very much. I must be honest and say that, in spite of that emotional-fuelled ending, part of me was disappointed that she’s staying. She became such a snotty cow in S8 that I’d have been glad to see the back of her. Let’s hope she redeems herself next series – her last, I hope! – without a boyfriend to get in the way. And I’d fascinated to know if that ending was rewritten or if it was always meant to be like that. I suspect it was the latter but you never know… it certainly makes for a better story if Coleman “changed her mind” once filming started but I doubt it. I’m sure someone will write into DWM asking about that one so an answer won’t be far away…

The whole “Danny’s dead” thing was well handled but I would have liked to know what happened to the kid he dumped her with at the end of “Death In Heaven” but no. No explanation, no mention. Cheers, Moff. So, Santa’s a dream, yeah, that works – makes sense and I was pleased that I worked out that the peeps on the bed were the same four crew members just before it was spoken on screen.

And did anyone else get just a little bit of Deja Vu when they woke up?

Last Xmas 2014Empty Child 2005

And are you seriously trying to tell me that Granny Wheelchair was snoozing away with a dirty great big facehugger on her head before Xmas Dinner and nobody popped in to check on her?

bellows dream crab

That was lucky,very close family, obv… and that’s us until August!

Dr Who Magician's Apprentice 2015

Oh, and I wouldn’t get your hopes up over that title. It probably just refers to Clara, after all Shona did call him a magician, didn’t she? Don’t look for a Sword’n’Sorcery type tale though, it’s bound to be another one of Moffat’s misdirections…If series Nine TX’s at the same sort of time as Series Eight, then put a note in your diary for Saturday 22nd August 2015…

Right, time to fill in that DWM Season Survey!

Leave a comment

Filed under Doctor Twelve

Leave a Reply

